Sometimes they make themselves

February 26, 2009

Coral Rose Angel Pony and Painted Pony

Coral Rose Angel Pony and Painted Pony

I have discussed this with other creative people – the peculiarity of some things (dolls in particular) making themselves so I know it’s not just me. Sometimes it’s like you’re channelling! Why is this? I think there are lots of reasons, apart from the sheer fundamentals of creation, including managing to not keep everything you make yourself but set them free in the world.

When I look at the two ponies above I forget that I made them! I think, how gorgeous are those ponies? Oh wait a minute, I made them! It’s really strange. It’s like I have a simultaneous affinity and love for them and an objective detachment. I’m struck by how they seem to have individual personalities (more on this thought another day).

And I am always thinking how amazing it is that I make knit toys. I mean me who years ago thought my friend Kirsten was very sweet for loving knit toys, especially vintage ones, but not really getting her deep attraction. (But being very respectful of it since she is a sculptress and fantastic stylist). And yet – what happen’? here I am (self-styled) Knit Toy Mistress.

Not sure if I have explained this thought very articulately since I have just woken from a nap but will post anyway and maybe edit later. I’m about to carry on with a twined cotton and feather yarn pony in pinks. Yesterday I knitted an adorable (see, objective viewpoint remember?!) stripey pig but he is yet to be made up and the other day I finished knitting a dynamite midnight blue and star-silver twinkly tinsel (!) yes, that’s right TINSEL mohair pony and have order some special nightsky blue roving to stuff him with.

Leave a Reply

