Appaloosa Ponies

March 1, 2009

Original Appaloosa Pony

Original Appaloosa Pony

Months ago I made a pony using various contrasting yarns so that it had the effect of a wild pony. What kind of wild pony was it? I googled and discovered that the beautiful ponies who have large patches of bold color similar to the one I made (above) were called Appaloosa – I love that word! What a name! Since the original Appaloosa Pony I have made several that are loosely based on the idea of being bi- or tri-colored in bold patterns.

Tufted ribbon and boucle appaloosa pony

Tufted ribbon and boucle appaloosa pony

Here is my latest ‘appaloosa’ style pony knit in most green and then the addition of a fancy yarn that has the tiniest tufts of ribbon thread in various colors from blue to pink. We will keep this little one, he sings to us!

2 Responses to “Appaloosa Ponies”

  1. Nicky Says:

    Wow, those ponies are very, very nice and it is a really original idea. Thanks so much for your comment on my blog. Like your stuff!

  2. lullabylily Says:

    Thank you happysquirrel, I like your stuff too, lots! x


Leave a Reply

